About ATF Awards

Arab Thought Foundation Awards

Arab Thought Foundation (ATF) aspires, through its awards, to encourage creativity by celebrating brilliant Arab innovators and showcasing promising ones, especially from young age groups, in order to promote their achievements and highlight the role of creative ideas and works in the development and progress of our societies. ATF confers these awards out of its faith in Arab creativity, in recognition and promotion of achievements, out of pride in achievers, and as an investment in innovative minds and energies.

Our quest is for creativity through an exceptional idea or an excellent treatment of a subject. Whether produced by one person, a team or an institution, such innovations are recognized and celebrated by ATF in fulfillment of our vision and towards disseminating and strengthening the culture of innovation.

Arab Creativity Award

ATF launched the annual Arab Creativity Award in 2007 to shed light on creative works across seven knowledge fields: sciences, technology, economics, community, media, literature and arts. A USD 25,000 prize is awarded in each field in addition to the award trophy and certificate of appreciation. The award has been conferred to 51 innovators between 2007 and 2014.

Most Important Arabic Book Award

The award was created back in 2009 at the conclusion of the Arab Writing and Publishing Conference organized by ATF in Beirut, under the Partners for Arabic Book initiative which was launched by ATF President HRH Prince Khalid AlFaisal to foster quality writing.

The prize is awarded to the most important Arabic book published within the last 12 months of each annual round. Nominated books are not limited to a single creative domain and may cover any of the various fields of knowledge. They should, however, deal with an urgent issue in the Arab cultural sphere, serving to increase awareness, help advance societies and contribute to the progress of structures and mentalities.

The value of the prize is USD 50,000 conferred with the award trophy and certificate of appreciation. Three authors have won the award, in 2010, 2013 and 2014.